

# Attorney Diedre Pierce Kelly Announces Her Candidacy for Criminal District Court, Section K

New Orleans, LA – Diedre Pierce Kelly, a local attorney and community leader has officially announced her candidacy for Criminal District Court, Division K. This seat is now open due to the retirement of Judge Arthur Hunter.

Kelly said, "From a very young age my mother instilled in me the importance of caring for others, hard work, and a good education. My legal career started at the age of 16 years old. I have been a court runner, receptionist, intern, para-legal, law clerk, parole officer and *finally* an attorney.

As a lawyer, I have always fought for individuals who could not fight for themselves. I hope to bring the experiences I've had inside and outside of the courtroom and create an environment at Criminal District Court that is respectful, effective, efficient, and fair to all people."

Kelly is a graduate of Dillard University and Southern University Law Center. She is currently a Senior Associate at Spears & Spears Law Firm, was previously a legislative aide in the Louisiana Legislature and a parole officer for the Texas Department of Criminal Justice.

Kelly currently serves as Vice-Chair of the Alcohol Beverage Control Board and is a member of the Independent Women Organization (IWO), the New Orleans Bar Association, the NAACP, and the League of Women Voters of New Orleans. She is a fellow of Emerge America, the Loyola Institute of Politics (IOP) and the Congressional Black Caucus Institute (CBCI).

Kelly is married to Jazzmond Kelly and has two children. She is a member of Seabrook Homeowner's Association and New Home Ministries Church.

The qualifying period for this election begins on July 22 and ends on July 24. The election will be held on Tuesday, November 3, 2020.

# **DIEDRE PIERCE KELLY CAMPAIGN COMMITTEE**

### **ELECTED OFFICIALS** -

State Senator Joseph Bouie State Senator Troy Carter State Senator Cleo Fields State Senator Jimmy Harris State Senator Edwin Murray (Ret.) State Representative Gary Carter State Representative Royce Duplessis State Representative Randall Gaines State Representative Jason Hughes Coroner Dwight McKenna Clerk - 2nd City Court Darren Lombard Constable - 2nd City Court Edwin Shorty Judge Desiree Charbonnet (Ret.)

### - COMMITTEE CO-CHAIRS

Roderick "Rico" Alvendia Tony Clayton John Fuller Darleen Jacobs Tamara Griffin Major Shantell Payton-Hodges Norma Jane Sabiston Latanja Silvester-Lewis James Williams P. Lindsey Williams

## COMMITTEE

Larry Aisola Lisa Manning Ambrose Allan Berger Scott Bickford Sean Blondell Desherick J. W. Boone Delisha Boyd Ronnie Burns James Carter **Thomas Corrington** Daniel Davillier Ja'Net L. Davis Marcus DeLarge Jeanne Demarest Frank DeSalvo Lisa Diggs **Dow Edwards** Brian Egana

Calvin Fayard Eric Ferrouillet John Finckbeiner **Daniel Foley** Warren "Chip" Forstall Tim Francis Pedro Galeas Lawrence Galle, Jr. James Garner Rudy Gorrell Monique Green Sundiata Haley Raashand Hamilton Ryan Hamilton Peter Hamilton, III Hope Harper Robert "Bob" Harvey Hester R. Hilliard Anthony Irpino

Tamara Jacobson Garron Johnson Tonva Johnson L. Blake Jones Robert E. Jones, IV Bart Kelly Kevin Kelly Steven Kennedy Freddie King, III Alex Lambert Charles "Captain Charles" Leach Gregory Lewis, Jr. Nicholas S. Lindner Calvin Mackie Wm. Ray Manning D'Juan Mansfield Robert McKnight Jashad "Shaddy Feel Good" McCoy Shaun Mena

Ammon L. Miller Craig Mitchell **Ebony Morris** Stavros Panagoulopoulos Robert A. Pearson Jeremy Pichon Suzan Richardson Clarence Roby Tanzinika Ruffin Maurice Ruffin Joyce Sallah Nathaniel Scales Scott Shea Leopold Sher Kea Sherman Ron Sholes, Sr. Reagan Sidney Tammy Singleton Bobbie Smith

**Erin Spears Ike Spears** Michael Stag Ralph M. Steward Cherie Teamer Vernon Thomas, Jr. Dominic N. Varrecchio Laura Veazey Wade Verges Branden J. Villavaso Tracie Washington Nia Weeks Cynthia Wiggins Gaynell Williams Jatavian Williams Maurice Williams **Edward Womac** Jimmie Woods